top of page
Search
gdolbear

Toastmasters and Art Therapy


This week in Biomed we got a week closer to our presentations. In light of this, our activities heavily revolved around getting our presentations in order. We worked on presenting our presentations for the first time. We videoed our first take and it was a pretty eye-opening experience and allowed me to make some valuable adjustments to my presentation. 


On Wednesday we went to a Toastmasters meeting. This is an organization that is solely dedicated to holding formal business meetings for people to come and learn about proper meeting decorum. They are meant to help improve communication and well as boost public speaking confidence. I enjoyed participating in the meeting and I will be able to use what I learned in my presentation as well as meetings throughout the rest of my life. I had the opportunity to stand and introduce myself and it was quite a confidence boost when everyone seemed interested and engaged. 


At the back end of the week, we learned about art therapy. It was a very interesting concept. One of my favorite things about it is its accessibility. We were able to undergo real therapeutic activities with just some paper and a marker. The first activity we did called for us to draw a winding and curvy line across the paper. We then colored in the spaces made by this line. The next activity we did, which was my favorite, was a breathing activity. We were to start drawing an upward line on the paper on an inhale then we directed the line downward on the exhale. This is a good way to visualize your current mental state. One can also see your progression throughout the activity as your lines get longer.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page