top of page
Search
gdolbear

Biomed Internship

The main focus, during this quarter in my internship for Mrs. McCleery, is in the development and design of a recycling machine. The machine will be able to turn regular water bottle plastic (PET plastic) into usable 3D printing filament. I started this project by accumulating a parts list. While 3D printing some of the components for the machine the Snapmaker printer decided to have quite the malfunction. On the bright side this gave me something to work on while parts have been coming in. Almost all of the parts have come in now, and I have started assembling. It won’t be long before we have a working device. Like any project there have been a few hiccups, but that is part of learning something new and learning how to get around issues. 


This internship has given me the opportunity to develop presentation skills. Oftentimes I am asked to demonstrate or give presentations on the St. Luke’s STEMM facilities, and I love it. I love seeing the looks on people's faces when I show them the 3D printed model of my friend's face and talking about the projects I’ve done. So far it has been a true learning experience technically as well as socially.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page