top of page
Search
gdolbear

A Busy Two Weeks

This week in biomed we opened up with a lesson on reflexology. We learned about theories on how parts of the body are connected. It is an interesting concept, but I don’t know how I feel about it. It seems a bit off to me that pressure on your big toes can have effects on your heart health. We made charts that showed what parts on the hands and feet are connected to the rest of the body. 

On Tuesday Mrs. Hammons came and talked to us about the intro to our presentations. We had a good discussion and made progress towards how I want to start my presentation. We have decided to start my presentation off with a shocking statistic that I am still working on developing. We followed this up on Friday in class. Mrs. McCleery had us do a sort of improv intro. This was sort of difficult, but it allowed me to realize what I need to work on in my intro. 

On Wednesday there was a guest speaker, but I was absent for this day. 

On Thursday we did a lab with a suit that simulates Hemiplegia and Hemiparalysis. It was a jumpsuit with straps and Velcro that was meant to simulate aging. Josh was the only one small enough to fit. From his description, it was an eye-opening experience to how older people live their lives. 

Last week we watched Something the Lord Made by Hugh Prince. This was one of my favorite medical movies. I didn’t like it as much as Temple Grandin, but it was interesting to learn about the struggle of integration of African Americans into the healthcare field. Last Friday we did a casting lab where we learned how to put on a cast. It wasn't hard, it was really just important to be familiar with the material that you are working with.

Also, last week some representatives from Spartanburg Day School came to tour our biomed program. They were interested in starting their own biomed program. I always enjoy talking to people about our programs. I had to stay sort of reserved in the first block because I was able to have their full attention in 6 blocks. I was able to demonstrate all of what the St. Luke’s STEMM has to offer. They seemed to be impressed with the independent PET recycler project I am doing. I could have talked for hours, but sadly I was limited to only 40 minutes.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page